Home Books Authors About Us Contact
Your cart is empty.

Books - Comet Weather


Comet Weather

by Liz Williams
A contemporary tale of four fey sisters:

Bee: the practical one, the lynchpin; still living in the family home of Mooncote in Somerset, where she has met an unconventional boyfriend that not even her sisters are aware of.

Stella: a DJ among other things. Currently hanging around the Med after completing a series of gigs in Ibiza, she has vowed never to return to Mooncote following a row with Bee, but that was then...

Serena: a single mother and fashion designer living in Notting Hill, increasingly uncertain of her relationship with long-term boyfriend Ben, a Camden-based rock singer and the son of a family friend.

Luna: the youngest, head-strong and free-spirited, a wanderer living out of a horse-drawn van while she follows the Gypsy Switch: the route of horse fairs that spans the length of the country.

The four Fallow sisters, scattered like the four winds but now drawn back together, with the comet due, united in their desire to find their mother, Alys – a former Vogue cover model who disappeared a year ago without warning or explanation. They have help, of course, from the star spirits and the no-longer-living, but such advice tends to be cryptic and is hardly the most dependable of guides. 

A tale to reignite your sense of wonder; a story that reaches from present day London and rural Somerset to other places and other times...


“In Comet Weather, Liz Williams has crafted something marvellous. This is a book full of wonder, horror, love, heartbreak, strangeness, and a gorgeously evoked sense of time and place. Between one page and the next you'll be laughing out loud, then shivering to your bones.” – Alastair Reynolds.

“This quick-witted and intriguing contemporary fantasy is fresh and original, while also harking back to the mythology of the English landscape and the classic literature that has inspired. A many-faceted delight.” – Juliet E. McKenna 

“From the domestic to the transcendent, this is a golden slice of British rural fantasy in the tradition of Diana Wynne Jones and Tanith Lee. I loved it.” – Paul Cornell

"The flawless writing, engaging characters and intriguing plot of Comet Weather make the novel a perfect pleasure to read. Think Gaiman: imagination enriched with history, culture, geography, astronomy and archaeology, and a dash of romance." – Aurealis 


Comet Weather is available as a paperback and a numbered limited edition hardback signed by the author.
£12.99 (Paperback)
£24.99 (Signed Hardback, LTD ED)
 
Published: 20/03/2020
Cat. Number: NCP221
Dimensions: A5 (5.83 × 8.27 inches)
Pages: 306 pp.
ISBN: 978-1-912950-46-1
Cover Artist: Ian Whates
Typesetter: Ian Whates
Language: English
Buy Paperback or Signed Hardback Limited Edition

£12.99 (Paperback)

£24.99 (Signed Hardback)

Back to Book List, Books by Liz Williams , Fantasy , Novels & Novellas
 



Home   Books   Authors   About Us   Contact   Site map  

© 2015 - 2020 NewCon Press. All works contained on this page are the copyright of the respective owners.