Home Books Authors About Us Contact
Your cart is empty.

Books - The Gift of Joy

The Gift of Joy

Introduction by Ian Watson

by Ian Whates

Eighteen stories, five original to this collection plus thirteen that have appeared previously in various venues, including both pieces featured in the science journal Nature and the BSFA Award shortlisted title story.  Eighteen tales that take you to distant futures and disturbing tomorrows, to strange new worlds and others that may seem uncomfortably familiar.  

1. Introduction ~ Ian Watson

2. The Gift of Joy

3. A Hint of Mystery

4. The Key

5. Gossamer

6. In Fear of Fog

7. One Night in London

8. Ghosts in the Machine

9. Knowing How to Look

10. The Sum of the Past

11. Flesh and Metal

12. Hanging on Her Every Word

13. The Final Hour

14. Darkchild

15. A Piratical Sabbatical

16. Glitch in the System

17. The Battle for Paradise

18. It’s About Time!

19. The Laughter of Ghosts 

“Planetary escapades and vivid battle action rub shoulders with charming yet eerie rural tales and with perilous urban nightmares.”  Ian Watson

“Ian Whates has a way with words and a storyteller's sensibility… Definitely one to watch.”  Jon Courtenay Grimwood.

“Darkly funny tales of the unexpected, with a deft science-fictional turn of the knife.”  Ken MacLeod

“It is his characters who live through the story and make the reader need to know just how it’s all going to pan out, human characters who may seem familiar but then there’s that one thing, that shifted alteration that changes the world and changes the reader too.”  Michael Cobley in Interzone.

£9.99 (Paperback)
£18.99 (Signed HB LTD ED)
Published: 30/04/2009
Pages: 256 pp.
ISBN: 978-1-907069-01-7
Cover Artist: Vincent Chong
Typesetter: Ian Whates
Language: English
Buy Paperback or Signed Hardback Limited Edition

£9.99 (Paperback)

£18.99 (Signed HB LTD ED)

Buy Ebook

Back to Book List, Books by Ian Whates , Collections , Fantasy , Science Fiction

Home   Books   Authors   About Us   Contact   Site map  

© 2015 - 2024 NewCon Press. All works contained on this page are the copyright of the respective owners.