Home Books Authors About Us Contact
Your cart is empty.

Books - The Peacock Cloak

The Peacock Cloak

by Chris Beckett

In 2009, Chris Beckett’s first short story collection The Turing Test won the prestigious Edge Hill Prize, becoming the first, and to date the only, genre collection ever to manage this. In doing so, the book triumphed over a very strong shortlist, including collections by one Booker Prize winner in Anne Enright and two authors who have been Booker shortlisted in Shena Mackay and Ali Smith (the latter a winner of the Whitbread Prize).

When announcing the winner, one of the judges – James Walton, journalist and chair of BBC Radio 4’s The Write Stuff – said, “I suspect Chris Beckett winning the Edge Hill Prize will be seen as a surprise in the world of books. In fact, though, it was also a bit of surprise to the judges, none of whom knew they were science fiction fans beforehand.”

In 2012 the Sunday Times named Chris’ novel Dark Eden the best science fiction novel of the year, and it was subsequently won the Arthur C Clarke Award for 'Best Novel'. NewCon Press are delighted to be publishing The Peacock Cloak, the latest collection from one of Britain’s most distinguished and accomplished genre authors. 

The Peacock Cloak is available as an A5 paperback plus a special hardback edition: each copy numbered and signed by the author, limited to just 150 copies.    

“On the radar of anyone who professes concern for science fiction as a literary form.” – The Guardian

“Astonishing diversity... Like a British Philip K. Dick” – Strange Horizons

“Chris Beckett, a dazzlingly inventive science fiction writer.” The Reader’s Digest

£10.99 (Paperback)
£20.99 (Signed HB LTD ED)
Published: 30/04/2013
Pages: 242 pp.
Cover Artist: Eugene Kapustyanskiy
Typesetter: Ian Whates
Language: English
Buy Paperback or Signed Hardback Limited Edition

£10.99 (Paperback)

£20.99 (Signed HB LTD ED)

Buy Ebook

Back to Book List, Books by Chris Beckett , Collections , Science Fiction

Home   Books   Authors   About Us   Contact   Site map  

© 2015 - 2024 NewCon Press. All works contained on this page are the copyright of the respective owners.