Home Books Authors About Us Contact
Your cart is empty.

Books - Burning Brightly: 50 Years of Novacon

Burning Brightly: 50 Years of Novacon

by Stephen Baxter, Eric Brown, Jaine Fenn, Juliet E. McKenna, Ian R. MacLeod, Anne Nicholls, Justina Robson, Martin Sketchley, Kari Sperring, Adrian Tchaikovsky, Peter F. Hamilton, Paul McAuley, Geoff Ryman, Iain M. Banks

Burning Brightly: 50 Years of Novacon is an anthology of rare reprints and original fiction from some of the biggest names in British Science Fiction.

It includes “The Spheres” by Iain M. Banks, a story that has never been collected or reprinted since it first appeared in 2010 Novacon souvenir booklet, alongside similar rarities by Stephen Baxter, Peter F. Hamilton, Justina Robson, Paul McAuley, Jaine Fenn, Geoff Ryman, Juliet E. McKenna and Anne Nicholls. Also featured are original stories by Adrian Tchaikovsky, Ian R. MacLeod, Eric Brown, Kari Sperring, and Martin Sketchley.

One of the longest running science fiction conventions in the world, Novacon is an established feature of the UK genre scene, with an illustrious list of guests stretching back over 50 years. To commemorate the event’s 50th anniversary, members of the convention committee have selected their favourite stories from those that have kindly been written by guests for the convention over the years.

Those stories are presented here along with five new stories written for the book by other former guests and attendees.

Table of Contents:

Burning Brightly: Introduction by Rog Peyton
Chiron – Stephen Baxter
The Spheres – Iain M. Banks
Acts of Defiance – Eric Brown
Heatwave – Anne Nicholls
Alien TV – Paul McAuley
Canary Girls – Kari Sperring
Softlight Sins – Peter F. Hamilton
Erie Lackawana Song – Justina Robson
Through the Veil – Juliet E. McKenna
The Coming of Enkidu – Geoff Ryman
Red Sky in the Morning – Adrian Tchaikovsky
The God of Nothing – Ian R. MacLeod
The Ships of Aleph – Jaine Fenn
Bloodbirds – Martin Sketchley
About the Authors

Available as an A5 paperback, and a dustjacketed hardback edition limited to just 100 copies signed by all bar one of the authors.
£12.99 (Paperback)
£27.99 (Signed Hardback, LTD ED)
Published: 30/11/2021
Cat. Number: NCP266
Dimensions: A5 (5.83 × 8.27 inches)
Pages: 258 pp.
ISBN: 978-1-914953-03-3
Editor: Ian Whates
Cover Artist: David A. Hardy
Typesetter: Ian Whates
Language: English
Buy Paperback or Signed Hardback Limited Edition

£12.99 (Paperback)

£27.99 (Signed Hardback)

Buy Ebook

Back to Book List, Books by Stephen Baxter, Books by Eric Brown, Books by Jaine Fenn, Books by Juliet E. McKenna, Books by Ian R. MacLeod, Books by Anne Nicholls, Books by Justina Robson, Books by Martin Sketchley, Books by Kari Sperring, Books by Adrian Tchaikovsky, Books by Peter F. Hamilton, Books by Paul McAuley, Books by Geoff Ryman, Books by Iain M. Banks , Anthologies , Fantasy , Science Fiction

Home   Books   Authors   About Us   Contact   Site map  

© 2015 - 2021 NewCon Press. All works contained on this page are the copyright of the respective owners.