Home Books Authors About Us Contact
Your cart is empty.

Books - The Light Warden

The Light Warden

Imaginings 11

by Liz Williams
With introduction by Kari Sperring

Liz Williams possesses the mind of a scientist and the soul of a pagan; her words paint the world in eldritch shades, revealing the familiar in subtly altered forms that make us question our own understanding. In 2010, NewCon Press released Liz’s last collection, the critically acclaimed A Glass of Shadow, and we are now proud to release her next, The Light Warden, volume 11 in the Imaginings series.

Fifteen stories, two of which were selected for Year’s Best anthologies and seven that are original to this collection. The Light Warden showcases Liz Williams at her best. 

What the critics have said of A Glass of Shadow:

“Williams’ prose is filled with an understated elegance… This is speculative fiction at its finest: challenging, rich, and, like a good red wine, rewardingly complex.” – Strange Horizons

“Williams’ rich, colourful stories uniquely combine the usually disparate and mutually incompatible genres of science fiction and fantasy: she writes with equal facility about geographically far-flung settings, ages past, and distant futures.” – The Guardian

“From the moment you open this collection, you leave the Known behind and enter the brighter, darker, more actual possibility that lies just through that door, over that hill…” – Tanith Lee
“Williams has mastered the art of writing clearly and believably about weird, alien worlds.” – The Times 

1. Introduction by Kari Sperring
2. The Dragon of Direfell Hall   
3. Tiger, Tiger                            
4. Spiderhorse                            
5. Stormbird                               
6. Cad Coddeu                            
7. The Hide                                 
8. The Light Warden                   
9. Milk                                        
10. Seamoth                                  
11. The Drove                              
12. Skinnrig                                  
13. Lily Juice                                 
14. Enigma                                   
15. The Winter King                      
16. Isambard’s Kingdom               

£22.99 (Signed HB LTD ED)
Published: 30/11/2015
Dimensions: A5 (5.83 × 8.27 inches)
Pages: 160 pp.
ISBN: 978-1-910935-01-9
Cover Artist: Michael Marshall Smith
Typesetter: Ian Whates
Language: English
Buy Signed Hardback Limited Edition

£22.99 (Signed HB LTD ED)

Buy Ebook

Back to Book List, Books by Liz Williams , Collections , Fantasy

Home   Books   Authors   About Us   Contact   Site map  

© 2015 - 2024 NewCon Press. All works contained on this page are the copyright of the respective owners.