Home Books Authors About Us Contact
Your cart is empty.

Books - Best of British Science Fiction 2021

Best of British Science Fiction 2021

by Keith Brooke, Eric Brown, David Cleden, Paul Cornell, Gary Couzens, Michael Crouch, T.H. Dray, David Gullen, Russell Hemmell, Phillip Irving, Emma Levin, Tim Major, Fiona Moore, A.N. Myers, Emma Johanna Puranen, Leo X. Robertson, Martin Sketchley, Teika Marija Smits, Peter Sutton, Ryan Vance, Martin Westlake, Aliya Whiteley, Nick Wood
Once again editor Donna Scott has scoured magazines, anthologies, webzines and obscure genre corners to discover the very best science fiction stories by British and British-based authors published during 2021. Two dozen stories, varying greatly in subject matter and style, from superb technological mystery to conflict on very alien worlds, from sweet, sad stories symptomatic of the tense times we have lived through to tales optimistic for better times to come, and even a dash of wry humour here and there for good measure.

Donna Scott is a director and recent chair of the BSFA, as well as being a distinguished poet, writer, and stand-up comedian. Donna is also a free-lance editor who has worked behind the scenes for a number of major publishers over the course of several years.

“The Best Of British Science Fiction 2021 is a book for intelligent, literary readers who want new ideas relayed through interesting characters via polished prose.” – Sfcrowsnest 

“Donna Scott delivers a bundle of exceptional British science fiction in this pandemic-influenced collection… This carefully curated collection will gift you with many moments of wonder, awe and bliss.” – Aurealis

“Loved every story in this collection! Standouts for me (it's hard to choose!): Emma Levin, Liz Williams, Paul Cornell, Nick Wood, Teika Marija Smits. Congratulations to everyone.” – goodreads reviewer

“This is another rewarding compendium for those who come not just for easy entertainment but to explore, discover and expand their list of authors to watch for.” – LibraryThing reviewer

Introduction – Donna Scott
Distribution – Paul Cornell                 
Stealthcare – Liz Williams   
Down and Out Under the Tannhauser Gate – David Gullen
Me Two – Keith Brooke and Eric Brown
The Andraiad – Tim Major               
Bloodbirds – Martin Sketchley                
Going Home – Martin Westlake
Okamoto’s Lens – A.N. Myers                
Love in the Age of Operator Errors – Ryan Vance
Stone of Sorrow – Peter Sutton
Henrietta – T.H. Dray         
A History of Food Additives in 22nd Century Britain – Emma Levin
The Trip – Michael Crouch               
The Ghosts of Trees – Fiona Moore
The Opaque Mirror of Your Face – Russell Hemmell
More Sea Creatures to See – Aliya Whiteley
The End of All Our Exploring – Gary Couzens
How Does My Garden Grow? – David Cleden
Girls’ Night Out – Teika Marija Smits             
Bar Hopping for Astronauts – Leo X. Robertson
In Aeturnus – Phillip Irving
A Spark in a Flask – Emma Johanna Puranen 
A Pall of Moondust – Nick Wood
About the Authors

Available as an A5 paperback, and a numbered limited edition hardback signed by the editor.
£12.99 (Paperback)
£26.99 (Signed HB LTD ED)
Published: 09/08/2022
Dimensions: A5 (5.83 Χ 8.27 inches)
Pages: 292 pp.
ISBN: 978-1-914953-25-5
Editor: Donna Scott
Cover Artist: Ian Whates
Typesetter: Ian Whates
Language: English
Buy Paperback or Signed Hardback Limited Edition

£12.99 (Paperback)

£26.99 (Signed HB LTD ED)

Buy Ebook

Back to Book List, Books by Keith Brooke, Books by Eric Brown, Books by David Cleden, Books by Paul Cornell, Books by Gary Couzens, Books by Michael Crouch, Books by T.H. Dray, Books by David Gullen, Books by Russell Hemmell, Books by Phillip Irving, Books by Emma Levin, Books by Tim Major, Books by Fiona Moore, Books by A.N. Myers, Books by Emma Johanna Puranen, Books by Leo X. Robertson, Books by Martin Sketchley, Books by Teika Marija Smits, Books by Peter Sutton, Books by Ryan Vance, Books by Martin Westlake, Books by Aliya Whiteley, Books by Nick Wood , Anthologies , Science Fiction

Home   Books   Authors   About Us   Contact   Site map  

© 2015 - 2024 NewCon Press. All works contained on this page are the copyright of the respective owners.