Home Books Authors About Us Contact
Your cart is empty.

Books - The Chinese Time Machine

The Chinese Time Machine

by Ian Watson
This is the first short story collection in seven years from multiple award-winning author Ian Watson, who worked for a year with Stanley Kubrick writing the screen story to the film A.I. Artificial Intelligence, and wrote the very first Warhammer 40K novels. This volume gathers together ten uncollected stories previously published between 2016 and 2023 in Asimov’s, Analog, and elsewhere, along with a brand new novella - one of four tales set in a near future shaped by The Chinese Time Machine.

The Chinese Time Machine
1st Trip: Brave New World, by Oscar Wilde
2nd Trip: The Kidnap of Fibonacci
3rd Trip: The Emperor’s New Wallpaper
4th Trip: Sherlock Holmes and the Butterfly Effect 
              (with Cristina Macía)              
Hot Gates                                        
Monkey Business                            
When the Aliens Stop to Bottle
Heinrich Himmler in the Barcelona Hallucination Cell   
Journey to the Anomaly                        
The Birth of Venus                          
About the Author              

“The brilliant Ian Watson remains the most stimulating and one of the least comfortable science fiction writers working today. Reading his short fiction reminds us why he is one of the genre’s unassailable greats.” – Adam Roberts

“His philosophy with short stories, and it’s a good one, is clearly to have fun. Fun with characters, history, language, science and plot... Mark you, there are serious considerations about economics, politics and history underpinning some stories and Himmler isn’t anyone’s idea of a laugh but, in general, this is meant to entertain and does. I recommend it.” – SFCrowsnest 

“The 4 Chinese Time Machine stories… are something of a mash-up of The Time Machine and various fictional universes (Barsoom and Sherlock Holmes) or more actual events. Very tongue in cheek! The other stories range from downright bizarre to more straight SF. Rather fun and recommended!” – LibraryThing reviewer

Available as a paperback and a special hardback edition signed by the author and limited to just 60 numbered copies.
£13.99 (Paperback)
£26.99 (Signed HB LTD ED)
Published: 20/04/2023
Cat. Number: NCP302
Dimensions: A5 (5.83 × 8.27 inches)
Pages: 272 pp.
ISBN: 978-1-914953-47-7
Cover Artist: Mabel SustanciaGris
Typesetter: Ian Whates
Language: English
Buy Paperback or Signed Hardback Limited Edition

£13.99 (Paperback)

£26.99 (Signed HB LTD ED)

Buy Ebook

Back to Book List, Books by Ian Watson , Collections , Science Fiction

Home   Books   Authors   About Us   Contact   Site map  

© 2015 - 2024 NewCon Press. All works contained on this page are the copyright of the respective owners.