Home Books Authors About Us Contact
Your cart is empty.

Books - Sleeps With Angels

Sleeps With Angels

Imaginings 11

by Dave Hutchinson
Dave Hutchinson is one of today’s finest science fiction writers. His latest novel, Europe in Autumn (2014), which has garnered praise from critics and readers alike, is currently shortlisted for the John W. Campbell Award and made the shortlist for this year’s Arthur C. Clarke and BSFA Awards. Sleeps With Angels is his first collection in more than a decade, featuring the author’s choice of his short fiction during that time, including “The Incredible Exploding Man”, selected by Gardner Dozois for his Year’s Best Science Fiction in 2012, and a brand new story “Sic Transit Gloria Mundi”, original to this collection.

“Hutchinson knows how to write dialogue, how to plot, how to pace, and best of all he writes characters – both main characters, and walk-on figures – that just lift off the page, alive, distinct, believable.” – Adam Roberts. 
“Hutchinson’s writing is so good he’d be worth reading no matter what genre he tackled. And if he doesn’t use some part of this review as a blurb then he’s just being difficult.” – Cary Watson, Jettison Cocoon. 
“I first encountered his stories in the mid-1980s and even then they seemed to me to have an almost indefinable ‘rightness’ about them, something that emerged from a combination of well-crafted writing and a good eye for a ‘human’ story, practiced but not polished to inhuman perfection. That sense of ‘rightness’ has matured beautifully in the last thirty or so years...” – Maureen Kincaid-Speller 

“Dave Hutchinson is always interesting, always powerful, often chillingly so, as he pokes around in the dark underbelly of the modern age. It’s always a pleasure to see new work from him.” 
– Lou Anders, Editorial Director of Pyr

1. Introduction
2. The Fortunate Isles
3. Sugar Engines
4. Dalí’s Clocks
5. Sic Transit Gloria Mundi
6. All The News, All The Time, From Everywhere
7. The Incredible Exploding Man
8. About the Author

Released April 2015, as a Signed Limited Edition Hardback of just 100 copies

Published: 30/04/2015
Pages: 160 pp.
Cover Artist: Magdalena Zmudzinska
Language: English

Buy Ebook

Back to Book List, Books by Dave Hutchinson , Collections , NP Novellas , Science Fiction

Home   Books   Authors   About Us   Contact   Site map  

© 2015 - 2022 NewCon Press. All works contained on this page are the copyright of the respective owners.