Home Books Authors About Us Contact
Your cart is empty.

Books - Looking Landwards

Looking Landwards

Commemorating The Institution of Agricultural Engineers

by Dev Agarwal, J.E. Bryant, Kevin Burke, Alicia Cole, Storm Constantine, Nigel Edwards, Sam Fleming, M. Frost, Henry Gee, Darrenn Goossens, Holly Ice, Gareth D. Jones, Kim Lakin, Terry Martin, Den Patrick, Rebecca Rajendra, Stephen Pirie, Gill Shutt, Rene Stern, Adrian Tchaikovsky, Jetse de Vries, Kate Wilson, Neal Wooten

An anthology with an environmental conscience.

NewCon Press' most ambitious anthology to date, collecting original stories that consider the impact of our changing world on food production, land management, and farming for the generations to come. With the impending crises of climate change, scarcity of water, dwindling energy reserves and spiralling global populations, the effective management of our land and the food it produces has never been more relevant. Established in 1938 by a small group of far-seeing and enthusiastic engineers and agriculturalists, the Institution of Agricultural Engineers provides a professional nexus for the scientists, technologists, engineers, and managers working in the many and varied forms of land-based industry.  

In 1988 the IAgrE marked its 50th anniversary with a publication that considered the changing face of farming and agricultural engineering over the previous half century. In 2013, to mark their 75th anniversary, they have chosen to commission a book that looks forward at what the future might hold. To help them achieve this, they approached NewCon Press.

Looking Landwards represents NewCon Press’ first ever open submissions anthology, with submissions received not only from within the UK but also from the USA, Australia, mainland Europe, Africa, and Asia; from professional writers and would-be writers, from scientists and engineers who are actively involved in dealing with the book’s themes to people who have simply been inspired by them. Looking Landwards features the very best of these stories. Twenty-three works of science fiction and speculation that dare to look to the future and examine what lies ahead. 


1. Introduction by Andy Newbold and Chris Whetnall of the IAgrE
2. The Blossom Project – M Frost 
3. Contraband – Terry Martin
4. When Shepherds Dream of Electric Sheep – Sam Fleming
5. Inversion Centre – Darren Goossens
6. Ode to an Earthworm – Gareth D Jones
7. A Touch of Frost – Renee Stern
8. The World Coyote Made – Jetse de Vries
9. Earthen – Alicia Cole
10. Soul Food – Kim Lakin-Smith
11. Charlie’s Ant – Adrian Tchaikovsky
12. Cellular Level – J E Bryant
13. My Oasis Tower – Holly Ice
14. Throw Back – Gill Shutt
15. Mary on the Edge – Steven Pirie 
16. Landward – Den Patrick
17. Long Indeed Do We Live… – Storm Constantine 
18. Tractor Time – Kate Wilson 
19. Veggie Moon – Neal Wooten
20. Wheat – Kevin Burke
21. Blight – Dev Agarwal
22. Black Shuck – Henry Gee
23. A Season – Rebecca J Payne 
24. The Last Star – Nigel Edwards
25. About the Authors

Looking Landwards is available as an A5 paperback and a Signed Limited Edition hardback, limited to just 150 copies.

£11.99 (Paperback)
£29.99 (Signed HB LTD ED)
Published: 28/10/2013
Cat. Number: NCP62
Dimensions: A5 (5.83 Χ 8.27 inches)
Pages: 272 pp.
ISBN: 978-1-907069-59-8
Editor: Ian Whates
Cover Artist: Andy Bigwood
Typesetter: Ian Whates
Language: English
Buy Paperback or Signed Hardback Limited Edition

£11.99 (Paperback)

£29.99 (Signed HB LTD ED)

Buy Ebook

Back to Book List, Books by Dev Agarwal, Books by J.E. Bryant, Books by Kevin Burke, Books by Alicia Cole, Books by Storm Constantine, Books by Nigel Edwards, Books by Sam Fleming, Books by M. Frost, Books by Henry Gee, Books by Darrenn Goossens, Books by Holly Ice, Books by Gareth D. Jones, Books by Kim Lakin, Books by Terry Martin, Books by Den Patrick, Books by Rebecca Rajendra, Books by Stephen Pirie, Books by Gill Shutt, Books by Rene Stern, Books by Adrian Tchaikovsky, Books by Jetse de Vries, Books by Kate Wilson, Books by Neal Wooten , Anthologies , Fantasy , Science Fiction

Home   Books   Authors   About Us   Contact   Site map  

© 2015 - 2024 NewCon Press. All works contained on this page are the copyright of the respective owners.