Nina Allan, independent publishers, publishing, science fiction, fantasy, dark fantasy, horror, NewCon Press, small press">
Home Books Authors About Us Contact
Your cart is empty.

Books - The Race


The Race

by Nina Allan
The first edition of this critically acclaimed modern masterpiece, and a signed limited edition at that...

Set in a future Great Britain scarred by fracking and ecological collapse, The Race is the first full-length novel from Nina Allan, winner of the 2014 BSFA Award for Best Short Fiction (Spin, TTA Press), and the prestigious Grand Prix de l’Imaginaire for Best Translated Work (Complications/The Silver Wind, Editions Tristram).

The Race opens in the coastal town of Sapphire, dominated by the illegal sport of smartdog racing: greyhounds genetically modified with human DNA. For Jenna, the latest Cup meet bears a significance far beyond the simple hunger for victory. Christy’s life is dominated by fear of her brother, a man she knows capable of monstrous acts and suspects of hiding even darker ones. Desperate to learn the truth she contacts Alex, a stranger she knows only by name. Together they must face their demons, wherever that may lead. Raised at the Croft, a secret government programme focussing on smartdogs, Maree has to undertake a journey through shipping lanes haunted by the enigmatic and dangerous Atlantic whale. What she discovers en route will change her world forever. 

The story of four damaged people whose lives are inextricably linked, The Race is a novel of tender nuances, brutality, insight and great ambition, a narrative that lays bare the fears and joys of being human, and, ultimately, offers hope to us all.

“Totally assured – this is a literate, intelligent, gorgeously human and superbly strange SF novel that will continually skewer your assumptions.” – ALASTAIR REYNOLDS (author of Revelation Space and Blue Remembered Earth)

“The Race is a beautiful and original novel, which confirms Nina Allan as a major new force in speculative fiction.  A dark dystopia in the tradition of Piercy, Russ and Robinson, and a bold indictment on corporate greed - past, present and yet to come.” – JOANNA KAVENNA (author of The Birth of Love and Inglorious)

£12.99 (Paperback)
£24.99 (Signed Hardback, LTD ED)
 
Published: 12/08/2014
Dimensions: A5 (5.83 × 8.27 inches)
Pages: 256 pp.
ISBN: 978-1-907069-69-7
Cover Artist: Ben Baldwin
Language: English
Buy Paperback or Signed Hardback Limited Edition

£12.99 (Paperback)

£24.99 (Signed Hardback)

Back to Book List, Books by Nina Allan , Novels & Novellas , Science Fiction
 



Home   Books   Authors   About Us   Contact   Site map  

© 2015 - 2017 NewCon Press. All works contained on this page are the copyright of the respective owners.