Home Books Authors About Us Contact
Your cart is empty.

Books - Best of British Science Fiction 2019

Best of British Science Fiction 2019

by Ian Whates, Chris Beckett, Ken MacLeod, Una McCormack, Lavie Tidhar, David Tallerman, Robert Bagnall, Liam Hogan, Ian Creasey, Tim Major, Andrew Wallace, G.V. Anderson, Mike Morgan, Henry Szabranski, Fiona Moore, Susan Boulton, Dafydd McKimm, Val Nolan, Rhiannon Grist, Emma Levin, Kate Macdonald, Leo X. Robertson

Twenty-two stories, selected by editor Donna Scott from disparate places, that represent some of the best SF published anywhere in 2019: stories of heroism, stories of loss, stories of wonder. 

In this volume you will encounter tales in which creatures are cut off from their loved ones; someone is trapped with an abuser; a bird sings; weeds grow where we hope for a garden; we consider what our alternative selves might be doing; we can’t sleep; we wish we could keep things just the way they were; we drink too much… and we look to rockets blasting off into the sky and think that there lies the future; that’s hope.

Best of British Science Fiction 2019 is once again edited by Donna Scott, a recent chair of the BSFA and a distinguished poet, writer, and stand-up comedian. Donna is also a free-lance editor who has worked behind the scenes for a number of major publishers over the course of several years.

“This is one of the best Science Fiction anthologies I have read in a while. They aren’t kidding when they say ‘Best’.” – LibraryThing reviewer 

"If this book is anything to go by then British Science Fiction is in good shape... If you want quality Science Fiction to make you think and ponder and dream then seek it out." - SFCrowsnest

“An excellent collection... These were uniformly astonishing. Funny, unexpected, touching...” – goodreads reviewer

2019: An Introduction – Donna Scott
The Anxiety Gene – Rhiannon Grist
The Land of Grunts and Squeaks – Chris Beckett
For Your Own Good – Ian Whates
Neom – Lavie Tidhar
Once You Start – Mike Morgan
For the Wicked, Only Weeds Will Grow – G. V. Anderson
Fat Man in the Bardo – Ken MacLeod
Cyberstar – Val Nolan
The Little People – Una McCormack
The Loimaa Protocol – Robert Bagnall
The Adaptation Point – Kate Macdonald
The Final Ascent – Ian Creasey
A Lady of Ganymede, a Sparrow of Io – Dafydd McKimm
Snapshots – Leo X. Robertson
Witch of the Weave – Henry Szabranski
Parasite Art – David Tallerman
Galena – Liam Hogan
Ab Initio – Susan Boulton
Ghosts – Emma Levin
Concerning the Deprivation of Sleep – Tim Major
Every Little Star – Fiona Moore
The Minus-Four Sequence – Andrew Wallace
About the Authors

Available as a paperback and as a numbered limited edition hardback signed by the editor.
£12.99 (Paperback)
£25.99 (Signed Hardback, LTD ED)
Published: 14/07/2020
Cat. Number: NCP244
Dimensions: A5 (5.83 Χ 8.27 inches)
Pages: 278 pp.
ISBN: 978-1-912950-69-0
Editor: Donna Scott
Cover Artist: Les Edwards
Typesetter: Ian Whates
Language: English
Buy Paperback or Signed Hardback Limited Edition

£12.99 (Paperback)

£25.99 (Signed Hardback)

Buy Ebook

Back to Book List, Books by Ian Whates, Books by Chris Beckett, Books by Ken MacLeod, Books by Una McCormack, Books by Lavie Tidhar, Books by David Tallerman, Books by Robert Bagnall, Books by Liam Hogan, Books by Ian Creasey, Books by Tim Major, Books by Andrew Wallace, Books by G.V. Anderson, Books by Mike Morgan, Books by Henry Szabranski, Books by Fiona Moore, Books by Susan Boulton, Books by Dafydd McKimm, Books by Val Nolan, Books by Rhiannon Grist, Books by Emma Levin, Books by Kate Macdonald, Books by Leo X. Robertson , Anthologies , Science Fiction

Home   Books   Authors   About Us   Contact   Site map  

© 2015 - 2021 NewCon Press. All works contained on this page are the copyright of the respective owners.